In total, 80 artists or groups have enlisted or been nominated for the award, which is the highest number in the history of the contest. The international jury has selected the following finalists: the artistic duo Vasil Artamonov and Alexey Klyuykov, Václav Magid, Jakub Matuška, Alice Nikitinová, and another pair of artists, David Böhm and Jiří Franta.

The competition is designated for young Czech artists up to 35 years. The winner will receive 50,000 Czech crowns for his/her artistic development, a six-week scholarship in New York, and 100,000 Czech crowns towards the realization of his/her exhibition, project or catalogue during 2010. Initiated by playwright Václav Havel, poet and artist Jiří Kolář, and artist Theodor Pištěk, the Jindřich Chalupecký Award was establsihed in May 1990. Its first winner was Vladimír Kokolia; many of its subsequent winners now rank among top Czech artists.

one comment for “Jindřich Chalupecký Award”

  1. _ says on20. Nov. 2010:


Here you can express yourself. (*required)